Forums

1 post

103 sounds
    206 posts
    is Internet dying?

"...the Web, as the dominant technological form based on the internet, is now dying, as a result of both mobile apps and social networks. Internet still exists as the infrastructure. But instead of being an interconnected of websites, it is now comprised of a collection of disconnected mobile apps."

This is the opinion of Hossein Derakhshan, a well-known Iranian-Canadian blogger.

Since I am not a coder nor an intellectual (and my english is poor) I leave the word to esteemed technology experts.
    The subject is vast, prejudice is always around the corner, and FreeSound is more for sounds than to discuss life, the universe and everything: I anyway hope these materials will help to better understand the actual situation of the Internet.

Hossein Derakhshan / also known as Hoder, is an Iranian-Canadian blogger, credited with starting the blogging revolution in Iran.
    "The Web We Have to Save""The rich, diverse, free web that I loved - and spent years in an Iranian jail for - is dying. Why is nobody stopping it?"

"Social Media Is Killing Discourse Because It's Too Much Like TV" / from MIT technology Review
    "We need more text and fewer videos and memes in the age of Trump.

an interview
    "The internet started from Pentagon, but it became quickly a utopian project by anti-capitalist technologist or academics. But gradually as its political and economic potentials were revealed, states and corporations jumped on it to control and benefit from it."

Jaron Lanier / American computer philosophy writer, computer scientist, visual artist and composer. Considered a founding father of the field of virtual reality. In the late 1990s Lanier worked on applications for Internet2. From 2006 he began to work at Microsoft.

"Ten Arguments for deleting your social media accounts right now" / 2018, book by J.L. / from J.L. website
    "You're losing your free will.